Deleting responses from your account – a how to guide

How To Guide Delete Response Customer Thermometer

In the first of a series of posts we are going to take a look at some of the more popular support requests which we get on a regular basis. Here we illustrate some of the difference pieces of functionality which Customer Thermometer can offer our account holders and provide real-life examples of how to get the most from the system, whilst revealing some hints and tips that you may not otherwise have thought of.

In today’s post we will take a look at one of the most common support requests which we get, which is how to delete a response from your account.

Before we start let’s take a look at why you may want to do this.

You might want to delete testing data from your account before rolling out live to real customers. Or sometimes, customers can on occasions click or tap the wrong button by mistake. Finally (and we’ve heard this before) it could be that there’s been a misunderstanding and someone’s actually clicked a red light when through discussion they realised actually they really didn’t mean to head a red light after all, because the problem had actually been resolved or something else that happened and it would be unfair to give a particular individual a red light.

There are three areas which we going to look at which will help you to delete data from your account.

1) Archiving Thermometers

When you archive a Thermometer, all data associated with it, remain inside the system. They are never deleted from your account. Archiving a Thermometer is purely a means to tidy up your Thermometer list screen so that you can more easily manage your workflow.

To be completely clear, if you archive a Thermometer, all data remains inside your account… it will show inside your reporting dashboard, it will show inside your exports should you choose to export to CSV, and it will form part of your welcome dashboard charts.

2) Deleting individual Email Thermometer responses

Visit the Blast Breakdown screen your response is included within.

In the screenshot below, you can see a small red cross against each response.  Whenever you click a red cross, that particular response will be deleted from your account and no longer form part of your results data around your account. It will also no longer appear in your exporting.

Deleting responses

There is one situation where a recipient can actually change or delete the response they’ve just given.

If you are using Email Thermometers (this technique does not apply to Embedded Thermometers), if a user clicks a response and within 15 minutes realises they made a mistake, they can go ahead and click another button on that same Thermometer. If they do so, they will be shown a message to say that they have already clicked that Thermometer. In addition, they will see a reset button. They can then reset their response.  This will then show as pending in your account and will effectively make the Thermometer live once again. When they click the Thermometer again the new response will be registered. After 15 minutes they are unable to do this –  this is purely a mechanism to correct a mistake.

If a customer calls you up after that 15 minute period and tells you they made a mistake with their rating, using the you can then go into your account,  click on the red cross shown in the screenshot above to make that particular email Thermometer pending, for them to click once again.

3) Deleting individual Embedded Thermometer responses

Please note for Embedded Thermometers, click the delete button as shown above, against the relevant response..
There is no opportunity to reset an Embedded Thermometer response.

4) Deleting Blasts

The final way to remove data from your accounts is to delete an entire Blast.

To do this, head over into “Reporting” and click the red cross next to the blast you want to delete. You can see how to do this from the screenshot below.

How to delete a Blast

Please note if you do choose to delete a Blast, all responses from that blast will be deleted from your account and will not be retrievable. Your exports to CSV will also reflect this deleted data. It goes without saying you should be really careful before doing this! Please also note that doing this will not delete the associated thermometer survey template.

We hope you found this post useful and learnt something from the lesson.

As ever, if you need any more help in working your accounts and getting the most from your account don’t hesitate to get in touch.