1. Home
  2. Subscriptions, billing & credits
  3. Billing frequently asked questions

Billing frequently asked questions

How do credits work?

Sending an Email Thermometer uses one credit… so if you send a Blast to 20 recipients, you will use 20 credits from your monthly plan.

Receiving a response from an Embedded Thermometer uses one credit… so let’s say your helpesk application sends 100 support emails with our buttons embedded in your footer and you receive 60 ratings, you will use 60 credits. You will not use credits sending Embedded Thermometers.

Credits will be applied to your account on a monthly basis at the moment you are billed.

The number of credits applied will depend on your subscription level.

What if I don’t use my credits every month? Do they roll over?

Credits do rollover each month up to a maximum of twice your subscription level.

So if you have a 200 credits/month subscription and use 150 in a month – the following month you would have 250 credits to use in your account.

How do I upgrade or downgrade my plan?

Simply head into “Account” on the top menu. Your credit card details are already stored securely and so simply select the plan you’d like to select and click “Change my plan!” Your invoice will be immediately available to you inside the Invoice tab. Your account and all its data will remain the same.

How do I move from a trial to a paid plan?

Simply head into “Upgrade” on the top menu. Enter your credit card and billing details and then select the plan you’d like to select and click “Change my plan!”. Your invoice will be immediately available to you inside the Invoice tab.

Will I be charged VAT?

If you are outside of the EU, no VAT will ever be applied. The prices you see on our pricing page are the prices you will be charged.

Customer Thermometer Ltd is VAT registered in the UK and to comply with the new EU VAT regulations, we are legally obliged to apply VAT to our invoices at the prevailing rate of the country of the purchaser.

For all EU-based users (except those in the UK) – If you supply your VAT number at the time of purchase, via the “Update Details” screen (we will automatically add it where we have it) no VAT will be applied to each monthly invoice. If no VAT number is supplied – VAT will automatically be added.

For all UK users – regardless of your VAT status, we will apply VAT to your invoice.

Whilst we bill in US$, the VAT amount will be shown on each invoice, in your local currency.

Can I keep my account open without being charged?

We appreciate that you don’t always need to send Thermometers at certain times of the year and so would rather not pay for a plan.

In order for us to keep your data safe and for you to use up credits stored in your account, you can select our “At the Beach” plan. For $9/month you can maintain your data and then upgrade to receive new credits in the future.

What happens if I run out of credits?

In your account settings area, you can enable ‘auto-upgrade’ to ensure your credits never fall to zero.

In addition, our Ministry of Magic will do everything in its power to ensure you never run out of credits. If you choose to ignore warnings and your balance drops to zero, responses will not be recorded and your recipients will see a ‘survey closed’ sign.

Can I cancel at any time?

Yes, of course. There is no long term contact.

If you need to take a break and would prefer to keep your credits, response data, Thermometers and account settings, downgrade to At The Beach. This only costs $9/month, keeps your account fully active, but provides no more credits each month.

If you have any other queries we could help you with, do get in touch with the team first of all, to see if we can advise on any specific issues you may have.

If you still want to cancel your account – you are free to do so at any time.

Visit your Account page > Change Plan.

Expand the Cancel account box on the right hand tool bar and read the information carefully:

Once you click “Cancel my account“, and confirm at the prompt, your data will be removed from our servers and access suspended immediately. You will no longer be billed by Customer Thermometer. We will be sad to see you go though…

Updated on June 13, 2018